Sarkodie, R2bees, Efya, Stonebwoy, Fuse ODG, DJ Black & More Are This Year’s AFRIMMA Nominees


The nominees for this year’s African Muzik Magazine Awards are out and this time Ghana has got several nominations in the bag. In case you are wondering  what in the world is this award show about. Well then, let me school you, AFRIMMA is an award show held in the States dedicated to all genres of music in relation to the African Diaspora. The second edition of the award show would be hosted by Nigerian Comedian Basket Mouth and Uganda’s very own Ann Kasiime. Catch the full list of nominees below and don’t forget vote for you favorites:

AFRIMMA Best Humanitarian Artist
Sound Sultan (Nigeria)
Vanessa Mdee (Tanzania)
2face (Nigeria)
Lady Jaydee (Tanzania)
Wax Dey (Cameroon)
Buffalo Souljah (Zimbabwe)
Judith Sephuma (South Africa
AFRIMMA Inspirational Song
Bracket ft Diamond & Tiwa Savage – Alive (Nigeria & Tanzania)
Juliana Kanyomozi – Woman (Uganda)
Sarkodie ft Castro – Adonai (Ghana)
Jose Chameleon – Bwerere (Uganda)
Psquare ft Dave Scott – Bring it On (Nigeria)
Eddy Kenzo – Be Happy (Uganda)
Best Gospel Artist
Sammy Okposo (Nigeria)
Nikki Laoye (Nigeria)
Soweto Gospel Choir (South Africa)
Uche Agu (Nigeria)
No Tribe (Ghana)
Icha Kavons (Congo)
Ntokozo Mbambo (South Africa)
Willy Paul (Kenya)
Artist of the Year
Flavour (Nigeria)
Davido (Nigeria)
Diamond Platnumz (Tanzania)
Sarkodie (Ghana)
Cassper Noyvest (South Africa)
Fally Ipupa (Congo)
Eddy Kenzo (Uganda)
Wizkid (Nigeria)
Yemi Alade (Nigeria)
Bucie (South Africa)
Best Dance in a Video
Lil Kesh ft Olamide, Davido – Shoki (Nigeria)
Toofan – Orobo (Togo)
Sauti Sol – Lipala (Kenya)
Fabregas – Mascara (Congo)
Diamond and Flavour – Nana (Tanzania and Nigeria)
Os DeTroia – Bela (Angola)
Serge Beynaud – Okeninkpin (Ivory Coast)
Olamide – Shakiti Bobo (Nigeria)
Song of the Year
Wizkid – Ojuelegba (Nigeria)
Korede Bello – Godwin (Nigeria)
Lil Kesh ft Olamide, Davido – Shoki (Nigeria)
Stonebwoy ft Sarkodie – Baafira (Ghana)
Roberto – Amarula (Zambia)
Diamond Platnumz – Ntampata Wapi (Tanzania)
Sauti Sol – Sura Yako (Kenya)
Best Dancehall Artist
Stonebwoy (Ghana)
Timaya (Nigeria)
MC Norman (Uganda)
Wax Dey (Cameroon)
Dr Jose Chameleon (Uganda)
Shatta Wale (Ghana)
Patoranking (Nigeria)
Buffalo Soldier (Zimbabwe)
Best Collaboration
Harrysong, Kcee & Iyanya – Feel it
J Martins ft Koffi Olomide – Dance for Me
Serge Beynaud ft Eddy Kenzo – Lopangwe
AKA ft Burna Boy, Da L.E.S & J.R – All Eyes on Me
Toofan ft Dj Arafat – Apero
Stanley Enow ft Sarkodie – Njama Njama Cow Remix
Psquare ft Don Jazzy – Collabo
Diamond ft Flavour – Nana
Crossing Boundaries with Music
Fuse ODG (Ghana)
Wale (Nigeria)
Knaan (Somalia)
Nneka (Nigeria)
STL (Kenya)
Asa (Nigeria)
Jidenna (Nigeria)
Best Rap Act
Sarkodie (Ghana)
AKA (South Africa)
Olamide (Nigeria)
NGA (Angola)
Octopizzo (Kenya)
Phyno (Nigeria)
Cassper Noyvest (South Africa)
M.I (Nigeria)
Best African Group
Psquare (Nigeria)
Bana C4 (Congo)
Toofan (Togo)
Sauti Sol (Kenya)
B4 (Angola)
Black Motion (South Africa)
R2bees (Ghana)
Magic System (Ivory Coast)
Best Male West Africa
Davido (Nigeria)
Serge Beynaud (Ivory Coast)
Wizkid (Nigeria)
Sarkodie (Ghana)
Flavour (Nigeria)
Carlou D (Senegal)
Olamide (Nigeria)
Stonebwoy (Ghana)
Best Female West Africa
Yemi Alade (Nigeria)
Wiyaala (Ghana)
Tiwa Savage (Nigeria)
Viviane Child (Senegal)
Teeyah (Ivory Coast)
Becca (Ghana)
Almok (Togo)
Efya (Ghana)
Best Female East Africa
Khadija Kopa (Tanzania)
Aster Aweke (Ethiopia)
Victoria Kimani (Kenya)
Vanessa Mdee (Tanzania)
Juliana Kanyamozi (Uganda)
STL (Kenya)
Irene Ntale (Uganda)
Best Male East Africa
Eddy Kenzo (Uganda)
Jaguar (Kenya)
Diamond Platnumz (Tanzania)
Bebe Cool (Uganda)
Jackie Gosse (Ethiopia)
Ali Kiba (Tanzania)
Dynamq (South Sudan)
Best Male Central Africa
Fally Ipupa (DR Congo)
Yuri Da Cunha (Angola)
Fabregas (Congo)
Nelson Freitas (Cape Verde)
Ferra Golla (Congo)
Corean Du (Angola)
Jovi (Cameroon)
Youssoupha (DRC)
Best Female Central Africa
Arielle T (Gabon)
Coco Argentee (Cameroon)
Betty Akna (Equitorial Guinea)
Lady Ponce (Cameroon)
Yola Semedo (Angola)
Laurette Le Pearle (DRC)
Mani Bella (Cameroon)
Best Female Southern Africa
Bucie (South Africa)
Toya De Lazy (South Africa)
Ice Queen Cleo (Zambia)
Busiwa (South Africa)
Punah Gabasiane (Botswana)
Lizha James (Mozambique)
Samantha Mogwe (Botswana)
Best Male Southern Africa
AKA (South Africa)
Zeus (Botswana)
Cassper Noyvest (South Africa)
Slap Dee (Zambia)
Stunner (Zimbabwe)
Tha Dogg (Namibia)
Donald (South Africa)
Vee (Botswana)
Best Traditional Artist
Flavour (Nigeria)
Kwabena Kwabena (Ghana)
Dobet Gnahore (Ivory Coast)
Ladysmith Black Mambazo (South Africa)
Mrisho Mpoto (Tanzania)
Soweto Gospel Choir (South Africa)
Tunakie (Namibia)
Best Newcomer
Kiss Daniel (Nigeria)
Pappy Kojo (Ghana)
Korede Bello (Nigeria)
Lil Kesh (Nigeria)
Mz Vee (Ghana)
Fabregas (Congo)
Ommy Dimpoz (Tanzania)
Bebe Phillip (Ivory Coast)
Best Video Director
Moe Musa (Nigeria)
Godfather (South Africa)
Clarence Peters (Nigeria)
Patrick Ellis (Nigeria)
Klasszik & JKP Studio (Angola)
Justin Campos (South Africa)
Ogopa Djs (Kenya)
Phamous Films (Ghana)
Best DJ Africa
Dj Jimmy Jatt (Nigeria)
Dj Exclusive (Nigeria)
Dj Cndo (South Africa)
Dj Black (Ghana)
Dj Creme de la Creme (Kenya)
DJ Shiru (Uganda)
Dj Joe Mfalme (Kenya)
Best African DJ – USA
DJ Shinski (Kenya)
DJ Ebou (Gambia)
DJ Ecool (Nigeria)
DJ Ronnie (Ghana)
DJ Dee Money (NG/US)
DJ Ronnie (GH/US)
Dj Amin (Ethiopia)
Dj Dozzy Ross (Nigeria)
AFRIMMA Video of the Year
R2bees – Lobi (Ghana)
Wizkid Ojuelegba (Nigeria)
Flavour – Gollibe (Nigeria)
Diamond ft Flavour – Nana (Tanzania)
Tiwa Savage – My Darlling (Nigeria)
Bebe Cool – Love You Everyday (Uganda)
Juliana Kanyomozi – Woman (Uganda)
AKA – Congratulate (South Africa)
Music Producer of the year
Shizzi (Nigeria)
Don Jazzy (Nigeria)
Killbeatz (Ghana)
Oskido (South Africa)
Nash Wonder (Uganda)
Sheddy Klever (Tanzania)
Legendary Beatz (Nigeria)
Dj Breezy (Ghana)
Best Dance Group
CEO Dancers
Unique Silver Dancers
Level 5
Imagneto Dance Company
D3 Dancers
To vote for your favourite acts head on over to

WP Post Author

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.