Nominees Announced For This Year’s African Banker Awards


Nominees for the 2019 African Banker Awards have been announced.This year’s shortlist sees a number of new banks nominated across different categories, as well as behemoths from the industry. 

The Awards, which are hosted by African Banker magazine in conjunction with Business in Africa Events, will be held during the Annual Meetings of the African Development Bank (AfDB) in June in Malabo, Equatorial Guinea. The finalists, selected by an expert judging panel of bankers and business leaders, will be announced at the African Banker Awards ceremony which will take place on the evening of the 11th June.

Chair of the Awards Committee, Omar Ben Yedder, the Group Publisher and Managing Director of IC Publications Group which publishes African Banker Magazine, said that he was once again impressed by the quality and breadth of entries this year.

“We have received a record amount of entries this year and once again it’s been insightful seeing the work banks and financial institutions are doing. The banking industry is itself being disrupted by technology and one could sense that the sector is embracing this technology to develop solutions that will truly benefit the real economy. Financial inclusion lies at the heart of formalising our industries and fintech is playing a role in bringing finance to the masses. Banks have had to be more prudent following the recent downturn but they still managed to post solid growth and the sector seems buoyant despite some setbacks in certain countries. This strength was apparent in the banks nominated and I look forward to meeting and recognising the leaders behind these institutions.”

The awards are held under the high patronage of the African Development Bank and are sponsored by The African Guarantee Fund and The Bank of Industry. The Gala Dinner and Awards presentation will take place at the Gaviota, by the Sofitel Sipopo, Malabo. 

The shortlisted entries are:

African Bank of the Year: 

•    Attijariwafa Bank, Morocco
•    AfreximBank
•    Ecobank (ETI)
•    Equity Group, Kenya 
•    Mauritius Commercial Bank, Mauritius
•    Trade and Development Bank

African Banker of the Year:

•    Admassu Tadesse – Trade and Development Bank, Kenya    
•    Brehima Amadou Haidara – La Banque de Développement du Mali
•    Brian Kennedy – Nedbank, South Africa    
•    James Mwangi – Equity Bank, Kenya    
•    Johan Koorts – ABSA, South Africa

Best Retail Bank in Africa: 

•    Coris – Burkina Faso
•    Ecobank (ETI)
•    Guarantee Trust Bank – Nigeria
•    KCB, Kenya
•    QNB AlAhli – Egypt    

Investment Bank of the Year: 

•    ABSA – South Africa 
•    Coronation Merchant Capital – Nigeria
•    NedBank – South Africa
•    Rothschild
•    Standard Bank – South Africa

Award for Financial Inclusion: 

•    4G Capital – Kenya    
•    Amhara – Ethiopia    
•    Bank of Industry – Nigeria    
•    Cofina  – Senegal
•    Jumo – South Africa

Award for Innovation in Banking: 

•    ABSA – South Africa    
•    Family Bank – Kenya    
•    KCB – Kenya    
•    MCB Capital Markets – Mauritius    
•    Ubuntu Coin – Côte d’Ivoire

Socially Responsible Bank of the Year:

•    Access Bank – Nigeria    
•    Bank Misr – Egypt    
•    Equity Bank – Kenya    
•    KCB – Kenya    
•    Qalaa Holdings – Egypt

Deal of the Year – Equity: 

•    Al Ahly – Canal Sugar Equity    
•    EFG Hermes – ASA IPO    
•    RenCap – CiplaQCIL IPO    
•    Standard Bank / RMB – Vivo Energy IPO    
•    Standard Bank IBTC – Flour Mills of Nigeria Rights Issue

Deal of the Year – Debt:  

•    Absa – $350m Old Mutual Renewable Energy IPP Procurement Programme
•    Afrexim – $500m ChinaExim Syndicated Loan    
•    CIB – $389m Egyptian Refining Company
•    Rothschild – $2.2bn Republic of Senegal Dual-Currency Eurobond 
•    TDB – $1bn Sovereign Loan to GoK

Infrastructure Deal of the Year: 

•    Absa – Enel Green Power    
•    Afrexim – Syndicated Loan for EBOMAF/Goverment of Cote D’Ivoire  
•    National Bank of Egypt – ElSewedy Electric Hydropower Project
•    RNB – Roggeveld Wind Power Project
•    TDB – Mozambique FLNG Project

Individual recognition will also be given in the categories for the Regional Bank winnersCentral Bank Governor of the Year,Finance Minister of the Year and Lifetime Achievement


WP Post Author

Leave a Reply

%d bloggers like this: